Yoga, a great tool for mindfulness

If you can keep from getting competitive and keep from having it turn into an aggression against your body, yoga can be a very powerful tool for mindfulness. During, for example, an hour long hot yoga class your mind is busy trying to connect to your body. Also, I found yoga helps me connect with body sensations through out the rest of the day. Also, it helps one sit with discomfort in the body.

Most importantly, I found after the class, if I can remain in the classroom (the room is not in use), I found my mind is especially ready at that time to apply mindfulness meditation techniques. After yoga my mind can sit in meditation more skillfully and for a longer time. The mind is more awake and ready and the body more able to sit still.

For six years now I have continued to take mindfulness meditation classes once a week. This is a great tool, having a space, with a teacher, where students can share stories, successes, etc. and meditate together.

Best wishes to everyone.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Yoga, a great tool for mindfulness

  1. Great Blog! Many thanks! I don’t do nearly enough Mindful movement, so you have reminded me again to include it in my mindfulness practice.

    Like you I am keen to demystify mindfulness and make it more accessible to people who have not tried it before, but would probably benefit from it.

    I have just launched http://mindfulnet.org

    Mindfulnet aims to provide “everything you need to know about mindfulness on one website”.

    Mindfulnet contains pages on Mindfulness in the workplace, education, judicial system as well as medical and therapeutic. It also contains a very extensive list of Mindfulness research, Links, resources, case studies and books. It also includes a page of the neuroscience of mindfulness.

    The website is independent and non secular. It’s been a bit of a labour of love so I am hoping it will be a valuable mindfulness resource. Do let me know what you think

    Kind regards

    Juliet

Leave a comment